Veggies and pasta

When I have some leftover ingredients to use up, I am often tempted to invent a new dish. This time I had a bit of baby kale, a handful of really sweet tomatoes, the remainder of a container of goat cheese, and some garlic and spaghetti.

September 22, 2013 539

While the spaghetti cooked, I combined all of the other ingredients except tomatoes in a heat-safe bowl. I also sprinkled on some crushed red pepper.

September 22, 2013 541

When the spaghetti was done, I reserved some of the pasta water and added it to the bowl. Then I threw in the drained spaghetti and the tomatoes and stirred until the goat cheese melted and coated everything in a delicious, tangy sauce. The raw garlic mellowed a bit from the heat of the pasta water, but next time I might sauté it before adding it to the dish to reduce some of the spiciness.

September 22, 2013 552

I also love to make regular pasta night healthier by throwing a few handfuls of spinach or some cooked broccoli into the mix with the sauce once the pasta is cooked. It’s a very easy and yummy way to add veggies to an otherwise vegetable-free dinner.

September 30, 2013 003

Leave a Reply

