Spaghetti with mushrooms, olives, and tomatoes

Here’s another recipe that I learned from my friend Valerie! It has been several years since she first showed me how to make this, so it’s possible that I have unwittingly changed the recipe over time. I also don’t know what she calls it, so I decided on “spaghetti with mushrooms, olives, and tomatoes.” Anyway, below are the instructions for how I make it now. (Valerie, feel free to add comments if my version is significantly different from yours!)

Ingredients:
–    Mushrooms
–    Cherry tomatoes
–    Green olives
–    Jarred jalapeños
–    Garlic
–    Capers (I find these to be optional)
–    Olive oil
–    Spaghetti

The recipe begins by chopping up all of the ingredients except the tomatoes, olive oil, and spaghetti. I like to buy a jar of Mezzetta jalapeño garlic olives for this recipe so that I don’t have to buy each ingredient separately. But I do add more fresh garlic!

August 01, 2013 308

While I’m chopping, I heat up a significant amount of olive oil in the bottom of a large pan on the stove. I usually make sure to cover the entire bottom of the pan with a nice layer. This will be the base of the sauce for the spaghetti. I also set a large pot of water to boil before I begin chopping.

August 01, 2013 317

Once the ingredients are chopped and the olive oil is hot, I add the ingredients to the pan and stir them around, returning to stir occasionally.

August 01, 2013 322

I cook the spaghetti once the water comes to a boil. While the ingredients in the pan are simmering over medium to medium-high heat, I cut the tomatoes in half. Then once the mushrooms are starting to look browned and cooked, I add the tomato halves to the pan and stir again.

August 01, 2013 329

I allow the mixture to continue to simmer until the tomatoes are hot and the spaghetti is done. It’s not an exact science. The olive oil will pick up the salty, spicy flavors of the ingredients and create a great, savory sauce!

August 01, 2013 334

To serve, I place the mushroom-olive mixture over spaghetti and make sure to spoon on some extra sauce. We usually eat this dish with tilapia. The overall flavors are very spicy, salty, and rich, so we don’t make this dish very often. But it is great as an occasional treat!

August 01, 2013 336

2 thoughts on “Spaghetti with mushrooms, olives, and tomatoes

  1. Mmmmm! What a great pairing with tilapia! The only thing I do differently is that I use anchovy stuffed olives instead of jalapeno! But this substitution sounds amazing!

Leave a Reply

