Brussels sprouts with dried cranberries, walnuts, and goat cheese

I love goat cheese! And I’m learning to love Brussels sprouts. So that is why I loved (a slightly modified version of) this recipe!

Modifications: Based on what I already had in my pantry, I used walnuts instead of pecans, and I just cooked up some brown rice instead of using barley.

I started by browning the halved, olive oil-coated Brussels sprouts in a pan on the stove. Then I transferred the Brussels sprouts to the oven in a 9×13 Pyrex and broiled them for just a few minutes.

June 01, 2013 036

I combined the goat cheese, cranberries, and walnuts in a bowl, and then added the hot Brussels sprouts as soon as they were done in the oven.

June 01, 2013 039

I added the maple syrup and balsamic vinegar, then I stirred the mixture around until the goat cheese was all melty!

June 01, 2013 040

I served the mixture over fresh, hot brown rice. The flavor was nicely tangy and sweet, and browning the Brussels sprouts ahead of time gave them a great texture. Yum!

June 01, 2013 043

3 thoughts on “Brussels sprouts with dried cranberries, walnuts, and goat cheese

  1. Pingback: Balsamic-roasted Brussels sprouts | Optimistic Omnivore

  2. Hi! Thank you so much for writing about my recipe on your blog. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed it. One little technical request (I’m really sorry for troubling you), but the link to my site has some extra characters on the end. When you have a chance, would you mind fixing it? I’m asking because google is trying to access the wrong URL on my site. Thank you very much!

Leave a Reply

