Brussels sprouts with Andouille sausage

This was my first experience with Brussels sprouts. They have always sounded so strange, and I wasn’t even sure how to eat them. My new resolution to eat more vegetables gave me the courage to try them out! I was inspired by this recipe for Kielbasa with Brussels sprouts. Instead of Kielbasa, we chose to use Andouille sausage because we like our food spicy.

I started by sautéing about half of a white onion, chopped, with some sliced Andouille sausage in oil for about 10 minutes.

March 14, 2013 011

Then I added the Brussels sprouts, cut into halves, along with a generous amount of chopped garlic, and cooked for another 10 minutes or so.

March 14, 2013 017

I added lots of black pepper and served the Brussels sprouts and sausage with some Zatarain’s Dirty Rice.

March 14, 2013 026

The Brussels sprouts were sweeter in flavor than I expected, and the flavor kind of reminded me of broccoli and asparagus. Overall, I was pleased with the way this dish turned out and I’m excited to try Brussels sprouts again soon!

Leave a Reply

