Recipe fail

I experienced a recent recipe fail when attempting to make baked radish chips. The picture on the recipe website shows crisp, browned radish slices. My radish chips came out of the oven as squishy, floppy radish circles.

March 03, 2013 015

March 03, 2013 018

March 03, 2013 021

My theories on why I was unsuccessful:
–    I used too much olive oil
–    I should have dried off extra liquid before baking the radish slices
–    I let the radish slices sit for too long in the oil and salt while the oven preheated
–    I did not bake the slices long enough

Oh well! Not every recipe can be a delicious achievement. If anyone out there has had success with this recipe, I would love some pointers!

5 thoughts on “Recipe fail

  1. Hey Julia!

    Bummer! I used very, very little oil on my chips- and let them bake until brown. I’m in Northern Colorado so my oven tends to cook things way faster than normal. Next time maybe try checking in on them and don’t time it.

    Hope you have better luck next time- they are a really delicious healthy snack!

    • Thank you for the tips! I love radishes and I’m excited to try this recipe again. I’m very much a beginner at cooking, so I really appreciate your help. Your blog is so cute and I can’t wait to try some of your other recipes! I’ll keep the adjusted baking time in mind.

Leave a Reply

