Easy black bean burritos

This black bean burrito recipe happens to be another one introduced to me by my friend Valerie. I remember being amazed at how easy it was to make these the first time she cooked them for me! This has become a staple meal in my household; my husband and I probably make these at least once every two weeks. The ingredients are inexpensive and the cooking process is so simple!

Easy Black Bean Burritos
(Makes 3-4 burritos)

Ingredients:

2 15-oz. cans of black beans
½ onion, chopped
garlic, minced
cumin
garlic powder
cayenne pepper
brown rice, cooked
flour burrito tortillas

Toppings suggestions:

tomato
lettuce
sour cream
shredded cheese
salsa and/or hot sauce
black olives
jalapeños or other hot peppers

I start by draining and rinsing the black beans and then putting them in a pot over medium heat. I stir in the minced garlic and chopped onion and then sprinkle on cumin and garlic powder and a few shakes of cayenne powder. I don’t know how much cumin and garlic powder I usually use, but I can say that I just keep sprinkling them on and stirring them in until it smells good!

March 03, 2013 005

At this point, you can stir the bean mixture together until it is warm enough and is a texture that you will enjoy eating. If I am remembering correctly, the first time Valerie made this for me, she stirred the beans until they were almost a paste-like texture like refried beans. Most of the time I just stir the beans around until everything is nice and hot and then go ahead and eat them as they are. Sometimes I add a little bit of water if the beans are getting too sticky or dry.

After the beans have reached the temperature/texture that I like, I layer rice and beans and various toppings into a flour burrito tortilla.

March 03, 2013 008

This time, I topped the beans and rice with Sriracha, lettuce, salsa, and sour cream. Yummy!

One thought on “Easy black bean burritos

Leave a Reply

